Battery_energized- logo

AMCA Wulfsport British Masters (round 4) at Hawkstone Park

Published on 15.6.2012 8:02

Another AMCA Wulfsport British Masters weekend and yet more wet weather. After rain had wreaked havoc at Mallory and caused cancellation at Whitby, the big watering can in the sky then attempted to ruin day two at Hawkstone Park last weekend during round four. Undeterred though, Ken Winstanley and the Masters team refused to be defeated, with the riders also standing firm and determined to ensure that round four was actually completed. Well done to everyone concerned!

In the Battery Energy Pro class, both of the current series leaders, Kristian Whatley and Neville Bradshaw were missing due to other commitments whilst Ashley Greedy then ruled himself out after injuring his shoulder when crashing in practice. In moto one, Daniel Hutchinson took the win, finishing just before Scott Elderfield and Shane Carless.

Pro moto two saw a dramatic finish as Elderfield and Hutchinson jockeyed for position just a few corners before the finish line. The fight for the win resulted in a collision and the winner was to be the rider that was able to remount the fastest. Scott snatched the win with the narrowest of margins ahead of Hutchinson as Carless took another 3rd position. In the Battery Energy Pro class MX1 title standings, Whatley has dropped to 4th behind Joe Jones, Sam Simmons and Ashley Wilde. Over in Pro MX2, Strydom gloriously leads the charge ahead of Burrows, Bradshaw and Winterburn.

In the super Hawkstone action for the Putoline Two-stroke Masters pilots, it was Ashley Wilde who took both moto wins on a dry day one. However with conditions quickly changing for the Sunday action, the victors were then to be James Lassu and Carl Brogden. Backing up his race win with a very consistent hat trick of second placings, Lassu was to be the eventual overall victor of the two-stroke class with Brogden in 2nd and Daniel Brough 3rd.

After a consistent weekend of riding, KTM mounted Jay Thomes became the new series leader in the GSP Race-Products MXY2 contest ahead of Scott Alldridge, Rickie Roderick, Neil Roe and Dan Thornhill.

In the Moto-Pro Suspension BW85cc class Tyron Cleaver tops the Championship chase, six points ahead of Oliver Benton. Henry Williams, making his first appearance of the season, took the overall win, bagging maximum points in the process. Joining Williams on the podium were Benton and Cleaver. Over in SW85cc, defending Champion Henry Siddiqui still leads the charge from Howard Wainwright, Matt Brame and Dion Lewis.

Darryl Maxwell still heads the Scott Acerbis MX1 Amateur class, some 23 points ahead of Matthew Thomas following round four. Although Thomas (2nd) and Maxwell (3rd) were to feature on the Hawkstone podium, overall victory was to go to Andrew Wilson.

Jack Cox continues to dominate the Zook Clothing Amateur MX2 contest, blasting to a very stylish maximum points score at Hawkstone. Cox boasts a 64-point advantage ahead of Edward Briscoe and Ryan Crowder.

In Michelin MX1, series leader Jake Alsop was a non-starter and so has now dropped to 8th in the standings with Samuel Kirby the new pacesetter, 12 points ahead of William Orritt with Jamie Wilson in 3rd. At Hawkstone, Orritt and Shaun Scrivens bagged two moto wins each.

Travelling to Hawkstone, Adam Wells and Emerson Jones were level on points at the top of the Michelin MX2 standings. After the weekends racing action it is Wells with a 16-point advantage ahead of Jones. The critical race of the weekend was the third clash with Jones down in 7th as his rival Wells bagged another win. Throughout the weekend, Wells was in fact first past the winning post in the opening three motos. The AMCA Wulfsport British Masters now moves onto Pontrilas with Ken and his team keeping their fingers firmly crossed that the rain stays away and riders can at last display their full racing skills on a dry track.